Pro Move – Promotion of Long Term Mobility in VET

October 2017 to September 2019

Since 2014, the European Commission has been supporting apprentices within the “Erasmus +” program who would like to make a vocational education in European countries. Although the promotion of an stay abroad is available for up to 12 months, most apprentices use the grant only for three or four weeks. The reason is, of course, that it is difficult to catch up the missed material in the vocational school in the case of longer stays abroad during the training. In addition, most companies leave their apprentices reluctant to whom they pay an apprenticeship.

Since 2014, there is the possibility to be supported after completion of education

For this reason, the European Commission has extended the possibility of funding in the introduction of the “Erasmus +” program. Since 2014, apprentices are eligible for funding up to one year after completion of education. That is, they can continue to pursue short-term stays abroad during education and then, after education, continue to pursue a longer-term vocational training up to a maximum of 12 months.

Pro Move Internet Platform

The “Pro Move” project aim is to support the apprentices after completing their training as well as the receiving companies in carrying out longer vocational internships (6 months and longer). The main focus is on the development of a website, on which companies and factories, which would like to take up apprentices from other countries, describe their internship offer. Then the apprentices can apply for these offers. The largest part of travel and subsistence costs is covered by the European Commission. However, the minimum wage law in Germany is opposed to this subsidy, which means that the minimum wage must be paid in addition to this subsidy.

Assistance from experienced on-site facilities

The implementation of the project is supported by the partner organizations mentioned below. They accompany the apprentices and factories during the selection process, they ensure that the necessary insurance is available, assist in arranging apartments and take care of the administrative handling of EU scholarships.

Our project partners:

  • De Plannenmakers, Leeuwarden, Niederlande
  • Foyle International, Derry, UK
  • Fortes Impresa Sociale, Vicenza, Italien
  • Semper Avanti, Breslau, Polen
  • Step Training, Sevilla, Spanien
  • ZNI, Maribor, Slowenien

Kick-off event  from 7. to 9. November 2017 in Berlin

From 7 to 9 November, representatives members of partner organizations from six European countries came together in Berlin to find a common way of promoting longer-term stays abroad in vocational education and training. At the same time, 12 VET schools were informed during a one-day seminar on how to use the Erasmus + offer for their trainees. In particular, the possibility was pointed out here to encourage trainees to complete their training for a longer period of time (up to a total of 52 weeks).

Further information is availible on the website of the project: www.pro-move.info

Pro Move – Promotion of Long Term Mobility in VET

Oktober 2017 bis März 2019

Seit 2014 unterstützt die Europäische Kommission innerhalb des Programms „Erasmus+“ Auszubildende, ein Berufspraktikum im europäischen Ausland absolvieren möchten. Obwohl die Förderung eines Auslandsaufenthaltes für bis zu 12 Monate zur Verfügung steht, nutzen die meisten Auszubildenden die Förderung nur für drei oder vier Wochen. Der Grund ist natürlich, dass bei längeren Auslandsaufenthalten während der Ausbildung der verpasste Stoff in der Berufsschule nur noch schwer nachgeholt werden kann. Außerdem lassen die meisten Firmen ihre Auszubildenden, denen sie ja eine Ausbildungsvergütung zahlen, nur ungern länger ins Ausland gehen.

Seit 2014 besteht die Möglichkeit, auch nach Abschluss der Ausbildung gefördert zu werden

Aus diesem Grund hat die Europäische Kommission bei der Einführung des Programms „Erasmus+“ die Möglichkeit der Förderung ausgeweitet: Seit 2014 sind Auszubildende bis zu einem Jahr nach Abschluss ihrer Ausbildung förderfähig. Das heißt, sie können weiterhin während ihrer Ausbildung kurzfristige Auslandsaufenthalte durchführen und dann – im Anschluss an die Ausbildung – noch ein längerfristiges Berufspraktikum bis zu einer Höchstdauer von insgesamt maximal 12 Monaten angehen.

Pro Move Internet-Plattform

Das Projekt „Pro Move“ will sowohl die Auszubildenden nach Abschluss ihrer Ausbildung als auch die aufnehmenden Betriebe darin unterstützen, längere Berufspraktika (6 Monate und länger) durchzuführen. Zentral ist dabei die Entwicklung einer Webseite, auf denen Firmen und Betriebe, die Auszubildende aus anderen Ländern aufnehmen möchten, ihr Praktikums-Angebot beschreiben. Die Auszubildenden können sich dann auf diese Angebote bewerben. Der größte Anteil der anfallenden Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten wird von der Europäischen Kommission getragen. Allerdings steht in Deutschland das Mindestlohn-Gesetz dieser Förderung entgegen so dass es sein kann, dass zusätzlich zu dieser Förderung der Mindestlohn gezahlt werden muss.

Unterstützung durch erfahrene Einrichtungen vor Ort

Die Durchführung des Projektes wird von den unten genannten Partner-Organisationen unterstützt. Sie begleiten Auszubildende und Betriebe während des Auswahlprozesses, sie stellen sicher, dass die nötigen Versicherungen vorhanden sind, sie helfen bei der Vermittlung von Wohnungen und kümmern sich um die administrative Abwicklung der EU-Stipendien.

Unsere Projektpartner:

  • De Plannenmakers, Leeuwarden, Niederlande
  • Foyle International, Derry, UK
  • Fortes Impresa Sociale, Vicenza, Italien
  • Semper Avanti, Breslau, Polen
  • Step Training, Sevilla, Spanien
  • ZNI, Maribor, Slowenien

Auftakt-Veranstaltung vom 7. bis 9. November in Berlin

Vom 7. bis 9. November kamen Verantwortliche von Partnerorganisationen aus sechs europäischen Ländern in Berlin zusammen, um gemeinsam Wege zu finden, wie längerfristige Auslandsaufenthalte in der beruflichen Bildung gefördert werden können. Gleichzeitig wurden 12 berufsbildende Schulen während eines eintägigen Seminars darüber informiert, wie sie das Angebot von Erasmus+ für ihre Auszubildenden nutzen können. Insbesondere wurde hier auf die Möglichkeit hingewiesen, Auszubildende nach Abschluss ihrer Ausbildung für längere Zeit (bis zu insgesamt 52 Wochen) zu fördern.