Europe Day in Melle

“Expand language skills, get to know people from other countries and master new challenges.” This is how Petra Wagner, Leonie Brehm and Paula Sophie Melcher described their experiences during an internship abroad in Vienna and Budapest. The professional and entertaining presentations of the trainees also delighted the former President of the European Parliament, Hans-Gert Pöttering.

Europe Day at the BBS: That was the culmination of a whole week under the motto “Thank you Europe”. 1600 pupils should take part in the event. At least that was how the organization team Hera Brand, Stefanie Bölke and Sabine Preuss under the direction of Silke Löw had planned.

Everything was meticulously prepared: the large stage was set up, the European anthem sounded every day in the foyer, and the entire student body was looking forward to the ceremony.

But in the short term everything changed because of the corona virus. “There are only a hundred participants left,” said headmaster Hermann Krüssel, referring to the limited audience.

“I am glad that I can be here today because my next appointments in Aachen, Brussels and Macedonia have all been canceled.” That was how Hans-Gert Poettering’s impressive speech about the development of Europe began.

It is a community of values ​​with 500 million people in 27 countries and the largest single market worldwide. The professor from Bad Iburg, born in 1945, vehemently campaigned for the financial support of the Erasmus scholarships and asked the students: “It is your job and at the same time the greatest challenge to defend these values ​​and the dignity of every individual and not that To leave politics. ”

The high importance of a peaceful Europe was the focus of all speeches, for the Deputy Mayor Christina Tiemann as well as for Gunter Ring from the Society for European Education in Berlin.

The internship abroad has been a popular tradition at the BBS for seven years, which carries the title of European School. 35 trainees worked in Portugal, North Macedonia, Malta and Seville. Three of them reported with great enthusiasm about living and working in Vienna and Budapest.

Paula Sophie Melcher organized her one-month internship as a so-called “freemover”. The third-year apprentice worked for a subsidiary of the Kesseböhmer company in Budapest. Her goal is to train as a European business administrator.

“I took the opportunity to gain international experience,” said the 20-year-old, who checked lift fittings in quality control, carried out load tests and documented work steps for a new product. She also worked actively in production. It was a relaxed day-to-day work with warm people. Paula’s tips for an internship are: Book accommodation with Airbnb, apply for funding, make contacts and have fun.

“We love Vienna and have had an unforgettable time,” reported Leonie Brehm and Petra Wagner, who worked with children and young people in the youth center “Come together” and settled in quickly. Leisure time was filled with a tight schedule of sights. “Get help with apps like Uber and moovit for local transport,” the duo informed.

The team of moderators Julian Korte and Jasmina Frey led the entertaining program in a charming and eloquent way. The orchestra’s music group received great applause from the Melle Gymnasium under the direction of Petra van Verth.

When Christina Tiemann and Hans-Gert Pöttering distributed the Europasses, the headmaster Hermann Krüssel was happy: “Thank you Europe, the message for peace is very important to us.”

Europatag in Melle

„Sprachkenntnisse erweitern, Leute aus anderen Ländern kennenlernen und neue Herausforderungen meistern.“ So beschrieben Petra Wagner, Leonie Brehm und Paula Sophie Melcher ihre Erfahrungen beim Auslandspraktikum in Wien und Budapest. Die professionell und unterhaltsam aufgebauten Präsentationen der Auszubildenden begeisterten auch den ehemaligen Präsidenten des Europäischen Parlaments, Hans-Gert Pöttering.

Europatag an der BBS: Das war der krönende Abschluss einer ganzen Woche unter dem Motto „Danke Europa“. 1600 Schüler und Schülerinnen sollten an der Veranstaltung teilnehmen. So hatte es zumindest das Organisationsteam Hera Brand, Stefanie Bölke und Sabine Preuss unter der Leitung von Silke Löw geplant.

Alles war akribisch vorbereitet: Aufbau der großen Bühne, im Foyer erklang jeden Tag die Europa-Hymne, und die gesamte Schülerschaft freute sich auf den Festakt.

Doch kurzfristig änderte sich alles wegen des Coronavirus. „Es sind nur noch einhundert Teilnehmer genehmigt“, berichtete Schulleiter Hermann Krüssel mit Blick auf den eingegrenzten Zuschauerkreis.

„Ich bin froh, dass ich heute hier sein darf, denn meine nächsten Termine in Aachen, Brüssel und Mazedonien sind alle abgesagt.“ So begann die beeindruckende Rede von Hans-Gert Pöttering über die Entwicklung Europas.

Es sei eine Wertegemeinschaft mit 500 Millionen Menschen in 27 Ländern und dem größten Binnenmarkt weltweit. Der 1945 geborene Professor aus Bad Iburg setzte sich vehement für die finanzielle Förderung der Erasmus-Stipendien ein und forderte die Schüler auf: „Es ist eure Aufgabe und zugleich die größte Herausforderung, diese Werte sowie die Würde jedes einzelnen Menschen zu verteidigen und das nicht der Politik zu überlassen.“

Die hohe Bedeutung eines friedlichen Europas stand im Fokus sämtlicher Reden, bei der stellvertretenden Bürgermeisterin Christina Tiemann ebenso wie bei Gunter Ring von der Gesellschaft für Europabildung aus Berlin.

Das Auslandspraktikum ist seit sieben Jahren eine beliebte Tradition an der BBS, die den Titel der Europaschule trägt. 35 Auszubildende arbeiteten in Portugal, Nordmazedonien, auf Malta und in Sevilla. Drei von ihnen berichteten mit großem Enthusiasmus vom Leben und Arbeiten in Wien und Budapest.

Als sogenannter „freemover“ organisierte Paula Sophie Melcher ihr einmonatiges Praktikum selbst. Die Auszubildende im dritten Lehrjahr arbeitete bei einem Tochterunternehmen der Firma Kesseböhmer in Budapest. Ihr Ziel ist die Weiterbildung zur Europakauffrau.

„Ich habe die Chance genutzt, internationale Erfahrungen zu sammeln“, erklärte die 20-Jährige, die in der Qualitätskontrolle Liftbeschläge prüfte, Belastungstests durchführte und Arbeitsschritte für ein neues Produkt dokumentierte. Außerdem arbeitete sie aktiv in der Produktion mit. Es sei ein entspannter Arbeitsalltag mit herzlichen Menschen gewesen. Paulas Tipps für ein Praktikum lauten: Unterkunft bei Airbnb buchen, Fördergelder beantragen, Kontakte knüpfen und Spaß haben.

„Wir lieben Wien und haben eine unvergessliche Zeit erlebt“, berichteten Leonie Brehm und Petra Wagner, die im Jugendzentrum „Come together“ mit Kindern und Jugendlichen arbeiteten und sich schnell einlebten. Die Freizeit füllte ein straffer Zeitplan mit Sehenswürdigkeiten aus. „Holt euch Hilfe bei Apps wie Uber und moovit für den Nahverkehr“, informierte das Duo.

Charmant und eloquent führte das Moderatorenteam Julian Korte und Jasmina Frey durch das unterhaltsame Programm. Großen Applaus erhielt die Musikgruppe des Orchesters vom Gymnasium Melle unter Leitung von Petra van Verth.

Als Christina Tiemann und Hans-Gert Pöttering die Europässe verteilten, freute sich der Schulleiter Hermann Krüssel: „Danke Europa, die Botschaft für Frieden ist uns ganz wichtig.“